Welcome | History | Science | Spacecraft | People | References | Multimedia | Home | Search | Tours | Site Map


Mir Space Station - Mir's Spaceflight Records

Mir's first crew of Leonid Kizim and Vladimir Solovyev first docked a Soyuz spacecraft with Mir on March 15, 1986. Since then, more than 100 cosmonauts, astronauts, and international crew members have visited and lived onboard the space station. These include visitors from Afghanistan, Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, France, Germany, Great Britain, Japan, and Syria. Over 75 spacewalks have been performed, totaling more than 350 hours.

The longest duration spaceflight records are held by Russian Mir residents, including: Yuri Romanenko (1987 - 326 days); Vladimir Titov and Musa Manarov (1995 - 366 days); Valery Polyakov (1995 - 438 days). Polyakov holds the overall endurance record of 679 days in two flights. Women's spaceflight endurance records were set by the Russian Elena Kondakova (1995 - 169 days) and the American Shannon Lucid (1996 - 188 days).

Related Links:
Long-Duration Spaceflight
Life on Mir
Mir Space Station
Russia and Spaceflight
Lucid Increment

Space Shuttle Orbiter | Mir Space Station

Graphic version available

This page is best viewed with Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.0 or higher or Netscape 4.0 or higher.
Other viewing suggestions.

NASA Web Policy

Curator: Kim Dismukes
Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty